Twitter Starts Rolling Out Mute Feature
Posted on May 13, 2014
Twitter is rolling out a new mute account feature. The feature lets you silence Twitter users you are tired of hearing from. The feature is available on Twitter's iPhone app, Android app and on the web-based Twitter.com. You will not get a user's tweets and retweets if you mute them.
"In the same way you can turn on device notifications so you never miss a Tweet from your favorite users, you can now mute users you'd like to hear from less. Muting a user on Twitter means their Tweets and Retweets will no longer be visible in your home timeline, and you will no longer receive push or SMS notifications from that user. The muted user will still be able to favorite, reply to and retweet your Tweets; you just won't see any of that activity in your timeline. The muted user will not know that you've muted him/her, and of course you can unmute at any time."Here is how you locate the mute option once it is available on your account:
To mute a user from a Tweet on your iOS or Android device or on Twitter for web, tap more and then mute @username. To mute someone from his/her profile page, tap the gear icon on the page and choose mute @username.You will know that you have muted someone because you will see a red mute icon when you visit their profile. Users are not notified when they have been muted. Twitter also has an article in support about muting Twitter users.
Google+ also offers a mute option, see here.