Frankfurt eBook Award Winners Announced

Posted on October 23, 2000

The International eBook Award Foundation (IeBAF) recently announced the names of the winners for the inaugural Frankfurt eBook Award, an award designed to recognize achievements in the emerging ebook industry. However, many authors and publishers were upset with the results and complained that the awards were biased towards traditional publishers and established authors. Most of the winners were from leading U.S. based publishers including Simon & Schuster, Random House and, Time Warner's new epublishing imprint. The winners were named at the Frankfurt Book Fair during a ceremony at the Old Frankfurt Opera House on October 20, 2000. In addition to awards for authors, a technology award went to Franklin Electronic Publishers for its electronic reading device called eBookMan.

Frankfurt eBook Awards Winners

Grand Prize - Best Original eBook
E.M. Schorb, Paradise Square (Denlinger's Publishers Ltd.)
David Maraniss, When Pride Still Mattered: A Life of Vince Lombardi (Simon & Schuster)

Best Fiction work originally published in eBook form:
Ed McBain, The Last Dance (Simon & Schuster)

Best Non-fiction work originally published in eBook form:
Larry Colton, Counting Coup: A True Story of Basketball and Honor on the Little Big Horn ( Books)

Best Fiction work originally published in print and converted to eBook form:
Zadie Smith, White Teeth (Random House)

Best Non-fiction work originally published in print and converted to eBook form:
Vilim Vasata, Uberleben in der Sintflut (Econ Verlag, Germany); English title is Radical Brand

eBook Technology Award
Dr. Peter N. Yianilos, eBookMan (Franklin Electronic Publishers)

``The Foundation was pleased to have accomplished several of the major goals of these first-time awards: to recognize and honor eBook authors, to promote the publishing of a wide variety of authors from around the world in the eBook format, and to bring eBooks to the wider attention of the reading public,'' said Judging Director for the IeBAF foundation Peter Mollman, a former publishing and software executive with World Book Encyclopedia and Random House. ``We are delighted to present these inaugural awards, and salute all the authors and publishers who participated. Especially gratifying was the fact that so many of the submissions came from pure eBook publishers, pioneers in this new world.''

The Grand Prize, as well as the prize of $US 10,000 for the four writing categories, were presented to ebook authors. The judges also bestowed a $US 10,000 technical achievement award for the advancement and implementation of ebook technologies and features. Final judging decisions on the winners were made in a confidential closed session in Frankfurt. The judges picked the Grand Prize winner from the fiction and non-fiction Original ebook category finalists. Submissions in these categories included works published originally in ebook form, as well as those published simultaneously in ebook and paper. All winners were kept secret until they were announced at the Award Ceremony.