Stephen B. Shepard and Dennis Flanagan To Be Inducted Into the Magazine Editors Hall of Fame

Posted on February 18, 1999

Stephen B. Shepard, editor-in-chief of Business Week, and Dennis Flanagan, former editor of Scientific American, will be inducted into the American Society of Magazine Editors' (ASME) Hall of Fame, it was announced by Jacqueline Leo, ASME president and editorial director of Consumer Reports. The inductees will be honored during the 1999 National Magazine Awards luncheon on Wednesday, April 28 at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.

ASME's Hall of Fame Award was created in 1996 to celebrate the career-long records of excellence, creativity and impact of a select group of highly influential magazine journalists. The 1999 inductees will join the esteemed group of editors named to the Hall of Fame thus far: Helen Gurley Brown, former editor-in-chief of Cosmopolitan, Sey Chassler, former editor-in-chief of Redbook, Byron Dobell, former editor of American Heritage, Osborn Elliott, former editor-in-chief of Newsweek, Clay Felker, founding editor of New York magazine, Hugh M. Hefner, founder and editor-in-chief of Playboy, Henry Grunwald, former managing editor of Time, Gloria Steinem, founding editor of Ms. Magazine, Richard B. Stolley, founding editor of People, Jann Wenner, editor and publisher of Rolling Stone, and Ruth Whitney, former editor-in-chief of Glamour.
More from The Write News

  • Twitter Separates Direct Messages From People You Follow and People You Don't Follow

  • Economy Adds 211,000 Jobs in April 2017

  • Yahoo and AOL to Become Oath After Verizon Combines Iconic Web Brands